Republicans have driven me to drink.

So I came home from another brain melting day of staring at a computer and turned on CSPAN (as most people do on Friday nights?), where I was greeted with a discussion with Keith Hall from the Bureau of Labor statistics and some elected representatives from Congress.

Being the dork really cool person I am, I decided it would be fun to watch this… on a Friday night.  I think this may have been where I went wrong.

Now, I’m a person who lives by the quote from The American President about how if you want free speech let’s see you acknowledge a man whose words make your blood boil standing center stage advocating at the top of his lungs that which you would spend a lifetime opposing at the top of yours.

Sam Brownback decided to test me on this by being yet one more Republican talking about how giving money to education industry and programs will not create jobs.  Right. Because EDUCATION HAS NEVER CREATED ANY JOBS. OH WAIT YES IT HAS. Plus, on top of the funding allowing us to hire more teachers and personnel, Pell Grants allow kids to go to college.  Which doesn’t, you know, get them anywhere. Or keep them out of the workforce. I will never understand how people so anti-welfare aren’t absolutely flooding the education system with every.spare.cent. and then some.

He then tried to coerce Keith Hall into admitting or conjecturing about statistics that didn’t exist.

After 20 minutes I almost threw the damn remote at the TV.

Okay. Depsite the fact that many of my humorous stories are about myself being intoxicated, I actually don’t drink all that much.  As in, I think I’ve been drunk twice in the past year, or when I go to dinner with people at an Italian restaurant and everyone orders wine I order a carbonated beverage or tap water.

But after watching CSPAN for 20 minutes, I decided it would be cheaper to dull my system with a few beers than buying a new TV. So to the bar it was.

Sigh. I’m all for healthy discussion in politics and differences of opinions, but… the Republicans are driving me to drink.

I think John Cole says it best:

I really don’t understand how bipartisanship is ever going to work when one of the parties is insane. Imagine trying to negotiate an agreement on dinner plans with your date, and you suggest Italian and she states her preference would be a meal of tire rims and anthrax. If you can figure out a way to split the difference there and find a meal you will both enjoy, you can probably figure out how bipartisanship is going to work the next few years.

This is why I’m not allowed to actually work in politics.

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    […] conniving assbag. Roland Burris is a giant nutbag. Global warming is slowly rotting the earth. Republicans in general are driving me to drink. I’ve been in the same place for 6 […]


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

