Why am I not in Juneau?

Peter came up to me today and started telling me about how he saw Slumdog Millionaire this weekend.  In doing so he played one of those extremely condescending my most favoritest communication games that some people do of trying to SHOCK AND DISTURB you by TELLING YOU HORRIBLE THINGS! and described to me how horrible the slums in India can be.

Dude?  Hi. I went to volunteer in Kolkata, India. Twice. In fact, I led one of the trips. Doubly, at one point I wrote and asked the company and any employees if they’d be willing to donate money.  Good thing there’s not slums in Kolkata.  Wait…

Oh, and I worked for 6 months in townships in Cape Town discussing housing and health issues, and interviewed people while sitting on dilapidated couches in their 1 room shacks.

And I’m trying to go back to school to get my Masters in Public Health, concentrating in Global Health, so I can go work in slums.

But thanks.

The economy sucks. For a week straight, work has made me want to throw bunny rabbits. My landlord won’t let me have a dog. Karl Rove is a conniving assbag. Roland Burris is a giant nutbagGlobal warming is slowly rotting the earthRepublicans in general are driving me to drink. I’ve been in the same place for 6 months.

All of these things compounded read to me as one simple question: Why am I not in Juneau right now? I mean, the world would still be rotting, Republicans would still be asinine, but at least I’d have this in my corner:

The most beautiful day in Juneau

The most beautiful day in Juneau

Because running away from life is way easier than trying to fix it, right?  Le sigh.
FINE logic, you win.  Asshat.
Leave a Reply

