Ode to Southwest Airlines

Dear Southwest Airlines,

How do I love thee? Let me excessively list the ways:

In the money saving column, your airline tops the U.S. books. Not only do you offer low prices, but you have the courtesy to ignore this new trend of checked baggage fees, allowing not one, but two free checked bags.

For this I love thee.

Your customer representatives are in perpetually cheerful moods. Never once has any check-in person been anything less than kind, and more often than not they’re downright jovial. Are your employees provided a free supply of Prozac to work there? Really, I’m curious.

For this I love thee.

Your flight crews are made up of goofballs. Even when I’m tired and cranky at 6am, that go-the-extra-mile stuff works, and their lame jokes about smoking on the wings and shameless attempts to play matchmaker to the single flight attendant never fail to bring at least a reluctant smile to my face.

For this I love thee.

Children are always treated extra-super-duper special, as if you are making up for the fact that you are unable to give them all a free ice cream cone and puppy during the flight. It’s like you realize that happy children make for much more enjoyable flights or something.

For this I love thee.

And lastly, of course, as of this upcoming summer, your newly expanded destinations finally fly to the places I need to go to! Not that I don’t love flying into Long Island’s ISP airport, but… you know… it sort of ruins the whole cheap flight thing when you have to take the 2 hour commute on the somewhat pricey LIRR into the city.

For all these I love thee.

Truly.

Thank you, and keep on keepin’ on.

One of your fawning fans,

Me

Leave a Reply

