Things about special elections

Apparently I like to live in areas where there are special elections decided on the winner of the primary before the actual special election – first the IL-05 (Hi, Mike Quigley!), and now the MA-Sen (sniff, Teddy).  Which, in reality, actually just means that I live in ridiculously democratic areas.

Yeah. I’m okay with that.

Okay, so it’s not as local politics as say, the Boston Mayoral race, but hey! I’ve only been here a few weeks.  Give me time to learn the players on the stage first.

But still… special elections are ridiculously bad ass.  Mostly because only a small proportion of the population eligible to vote gives a damn.  Oh, representative democracy, you saucy temptress, you.

PS, and only slightly related: I’m now FB friends with Mike Quigley.  Um… because I’m REALLY cool.  I sort of want to ask him if he’s actually riding his bike to work in Washington.

Leave a Reply

