Things about Mary Travers

Growing up, I was never a kid who sat in their room staring at the ceiling while listening to music and feeling the lyrics deep in my soul. To be honest, I just didn’t care about music all that much.  I was the anti-teenager in that respect.  Sure, I liked random teen-centric angsty stuff from the early 2000’s (punk/emo stuff like the Ataris, New Found Glory), and went to Warped Tour a couple of times, but… I also dug U2… and Frank Sinatra… and Jump, Little Children. And I went to Lillith Fair.  Really, I tended to (and still do) like songs over bands.

But there was always Peter, Paul, and Mary.

Thanks to my parents, who were teenagers of the late 50s/60s, I grew up going to Peter, Paul, and Mary concerts every summer for as long as I can remember.  My parents actually wanted to get married to Noel Paul Stookey’s “The Wedding Song” but the priest wouldn’t let them (damn Catholic dogma).  PP&M was a constant on the radio in our house and there was always the annual trip to meet up with my godparents’ family on a warm summer night to sit on the lawn at Ravinia (always near the dog statue), and listen to PP&M.

Peter, Paul and Mary shaped my childhood. My social justice roots started early, I suppose.  I still cry when I listen to “Home is Where the Heart Is”… because… well, I’m supercool like that, I suppose.

On September 16th, 2009, Mary died due to complications of treatment for leukemia.  Her passing had more coverage than I’d expect, but still relatively little.

The rest of the world had their foundations rocked when MJ died. To be honest, I couldn’t have cared less.  But Mary Travers?  Mary Travers dying seems to have officially signaled the end of my childhood.

Anything I can think to say is sappy and two weeks overdue at this point.  But, basically… thanks, Mary, for being a huge part of shaping who I am.

(Wanted to find a different video, but I can’t find it on youtube, and Leaving on a Jet Plane is bad assed, so… this’ll do.)

10/4/09 ETA: Found the video I was looking for – I Have a Song to Sing, O!

This song is, I suppose, one of their lesser known ones, but definitely flitted through my house growing up. No idea which album it’s on, but I love it and recently rediscovered it while stalking down youtube videos of PP&M since hearing the news about Mary

Leave a Reply

